“Biased Christian’s”

“My mom started taking me to a therapist, but would only take me to christian therapists, (who were all very biased) so I never actually got the therapy I needed to cure me of my depression. I only got more christians telling me that I was selfish and wrong and that I should look to God for help.”

Said one transgender teen.

imgres-7

Now I’m sure many of you have heard the story of LEELAH Alcorn, – Let me go ahead and state that girl pronouns will be used through out this blog, because that is how she wanted to be remembered. –  but this blog isn’t just going to be about the “Suicide Committed By the Transgender Teen”. It’s going to be about why The Transgender Teen Committed Suicide.

Why she felt that she had to die, because there wasn’t a place for her in this world.

Why she pled for society to be fixed.

“The only way I will rest in peace is if one day transgender people aren’t treated the way I was, they’re treated like humans, with valid feelings and human rights. Gender needs to be taught about in schools, the earlier the better. My death needs to mean something. My death needs to be counted in the number of transgender people who commit suicide this year. … Fix society. Please.”

I am a Christian, but the way I look at it is that it’s not my place to judge and nor is it yours. On her judgement day you won’t be there to send her to hell because she felt “like a girl trapped in a boy’s body,”
“Please don’t be sad, it’s for the better. The life I would’ve lived isn’t worth living in … because I’m transgender, I could go into detail explaining why I feel that way, but this note is probably going to be lengthy enough as it is. To put it simply, I feel like a girl trapped in a boy’s body, and I’ve felt that way ever since I was 4. I never knew there was a word for that feeling, nor was it possible for a boy to become a girl, so I never told anyone and I just continued to do traditionally ‘boyish’ things to try to fit in.”
The way she spends will be up to God, but because of people who were unable to realize that they made her life a living hell.
They made her fell unwanted and undeserving of her life.
“We don’t support that, religiously, but we told him that we loved him unconditionally. We loved him no matter what. I loved my son. People need to know that I loved him. He was a good kid, a good boy.”
Said Carla, Leelah’s mother, but the fact that Carla said she loved her didn’t change the way she felt.
“After 10 years of confusion I finally understood who I was. I immediately told my mom, and she reacted extremely negatively, telling me that it was a phase, that I would never truly be a girl, that God doesn’t make mistakes, that I am wrong. If you are reading this, parents, please don’t tell this to your kids, even if you are Christian or are against transgender people don’t ever say that to someone, especially your kid. That won’t do anything but make them hate them self. That’s exactly what it did to me.”
Not that her death was her mother’s fault or that I’m blaming Christian’s for her suicide, but I’m trying to get the point across that society is to blame. We – yes, I know everyone can’t be at fault, but we are society and I’m directing this message towards society – have to take part in this and realize that we can cost someone their life by not accepting other’s and pushing them away because they’re different.
We can’t take a Godly position and judge other’s for the way they feel towards other people. It’s not up to us to decide someone’s fate because they are unable to be attracted to the opposite sex – only God can do that and the time for God to decide her eternity should have came later than it did.
Yet, some people – like her mother – aren’t able to face up to this saying that her child…
“went home to heaven this morning. He was out for an early morning walk and was hit by a truck. Thank you for the messages and kindness and concern you have sent our way. Please continue to keep us in your thoughts.”
It was said that she kept repeating that “He was an amazing musician and artist,” and that” He was an amazing boy.”
But we all need to realize that God made Josh. Yes, Carla gave birth, but she wouldn’t been able to if she wasn’t given her child by God – her herself should believe this since she was a Christian – We didn’t make Josh so Josh wanted to be Leelah and that’s how she should be remembered. That’s how she should have been known. Only her maker should be able to tell her that she wasn’t meant to be a girl.
Yes, she should have looked to God for help.
Not to the many people who judged her, but to God.

Leave a comment